h1

Cass Avenue Bridge Construction Progress

March 20, 2011

Today I drove up North Broadway from downtown and observed the progress that has been made on the new Cass Avenue Bridge (that’s what I’m calling it). This is an exciting new project which opens up the possibility to reverse the terrible decision we made, sending highway 70 right through Downtown St. Louis and cutting it off from the Arch/Riverfront. CitytoRiver is still working to turn this great opportunity into reality.

Cass Avenue Bridge Construction

The Contractors, it seems, are also working quickly to make this bridge a reality.  A good portion of the land approach has been built (presumably on both sides of the river), and the large number of cranes on both sides makes me think that it won’t be too long until they start to cross the Mississippi.

Cass Avenue Bridge Construction

After my visit today I look forward to the view of Downtown St. Louis that will be enjoyed from the bridge once it has been completed.  By climbing up on a big pile of dirt and concrete I was able to to get a sneak peak.

Downtown from the Cass Avenue Bridge

I even think it was worth the risks I took with my Wallabees.

For more photos of the Cass Avenue Bridge see my Flickr set here.

One comment

  1. [...] Cass Avenue Bridge Construction Progress [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,414 other followers

