h1

Union Depot of Joplin

January 6, 2011

This week I stumbled upon the Union Depot of Joplin, MO.  Driving North out of downtown on Main Street you can just barely glimpse it off the side of the road.

Joplin Union Depot

After seeing this awesome building and walking around it, I did some research online and found some very interesting facts, one of which was that the structure is concrete, made from scraps left over from local mining operations.  Joplin, MO was thinking green in 1908!

Joplin Union Depot - Abandoned

The abandoned depot hasn’t been used by anyone but graffiti artists for decades, but appears to be in remarkably good condition.

More photos of Joplin.

3 comments

  1. There have been plans on and off for decades to restore it. It is currently owned by the State of Missouri. There are current plans brewing in Joplin to build an Visual and Performing Arts Complex in that area, possibly with a museum, and to have the restored depot as the centerpiece.


  2. Just stumbled across your blog. Really like it – it’s the kind of stuff I’m out photographing. I’ve had a St. Louis Daily Photo Blog for almost 4 years at http://saintlouismodailyphoto.blogspot.com/ . Also, I recently started a Downtown St. Louis 365 photo blog, which I hope to post to every day in 2011. It’s at http://downtownstlouis365.blogspot.com/ . You might want to list them in your blog roll and I would be happy to contribute pictures to yours.


    • Thank you for checking my blog out! I have actually been following your photo blog for a while now and am suprised that I never added it to my blogroll (a mistake I am correcting right now). I love your photography and will continue to visit your sites to see more of your photos! Thanks again!



Leave a Reply

